Board of Trustees and Advisory Group

Board of Trustees

Susan Patz, President Retired hydrogeologist, environmental educator, past member of the Cylburn Arboretum Association, Central Scholarship, and CHAI Boards; Northwest School/Community Partnership Co-Chair.

Dr. Larry Sandler, Vice President – Psychiatrist with offices in Mount Washington Village and affiliations with University of Maryland Medical School.

Margaret Allen, Treasurer – CEO and Founder of AGM Financial,

Carla Dunlap, Secretary – Senior Program Director at Maryland State Arts Council for 21 years until 2016. Formerly Director Howard County Center for the Arts, Ellicot City, and professional potter and teacher.

Mary Jo Kirschman, Deputy Secretary – Baltimore community political advocate; Former social worker; Baltimore Clayworks student.

Ronni Aronin — Founder and Resident Artist of Baltimore Clayworks, professional potter.

Deborah Bedwell — Founder of Baltimore Clayworks, Founding Executive Director 1980-2011, immediate past president of the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts.

George Ciscle – Curator-in- residence at Maryland Institute, College of Art until June 2017. Founding faculty of MICA’s M.F.A. in Curatorial Practice. Founding Director of The Contemporary Museum, Baltimore.

Alan Cooper – Director of Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation for 15 years until May, 2017. Recognized international arts leader; formerly Deputy for Development at National Cathedral, Washington, DC.

Annet Couwenberg - Artist; Professor, Fiber Arts Department at MICA.

Marcy Emmer – Long-time Mount Washington resident, Clayworks student and donor. Worked many years  with children and the arts, as a teacher, docent, and co-owner of an after-school arts program.

John Gazurian –Former construction project manager, and potter.

Pat Halle – Potter and social justice community activist. Paralegal staff for 37 years at Disability Rights Maryland (formerly Maryland Disability Law Center).

Nick Hawkins Lawyer; Womble, Bond, and Dickinson.

Caroline Jelavich Associate Director of Development at Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins University

Cynthia Kammann – Retired Laboratory Director of Dialysis Centers, and potter.

Mary Ann Mears – Sculptor, visual artist arts activist. Founding board member of Maryland Arts Place and founder of Arts Every Day, an arts-integration cultural non-profit in Baltimore. Founding board member of Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance.

Christina McCleary - Artist; Administrator, Columbia Art Center; Founder Brickbourne Studios.

Megan Rich – Owner and Managing Director of Megan Rich Physical Therapy, specializing in treatment for performing artists and athletes

Rima Semaan – Clayworks student. International commercial banker with 15 years experience, general manager of Lebanese bank in London.

John K. Smith — Retired business executive, CPA and developer. Former Chair and Treasurer of Baltimore Clayworks

Leathia West – Prince Georges County potter and teacher. Longtime Clayworks student; experienced political and community activist: founder and president of Kindness Corps.

To reach the Board of Trustees, please email Susan Patz, Board Chair,

Advisory Group:

Clayworks Board of Trustees created an Advisory Group of outstanding arts professionals from the Baltimore area. In June 2018, the Board, Advisory Group, and approximately 80 key stakeholders engaged in a charrette that began the strategic planning process that will ultimately result in visionary, programmatic, and financial models. With stability and planning, Baltimore Clayworks will restore the core value of “joy” to the community and build an aspirational road map for its future.

Kibibi Ajanku - Urban Arts Leadership Program; Sankofa Dance Theatre

Mary Ann Akers - Dean, Morgan School of Architecture and Design

Nick Cohen - Executive Director, Maryland Citizens for the Arts

Blaise DePaolo - Sculptor; Assistant Professor, Morgan State University

Luis Flores - Artist; Educator, Baltimore School for the Arts,’ Mt. Washington resident

Denise Gantt - Writer; Director of Education, The Modell – Lyric Performing Arts Center

Jill Green - Associate Dean; Johns Hopkins University Carey Business School

Jeannie Howe - Executive Director, Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance

Fred Lazarus - President Emeritus, Maryland Institute College of Art

Susan Magsamen - Executive Director, John Hopkins University International Arts and Mind Lab

Lenel Srochi Meyerhoff - Collector; Supporter of the arts

Scroll to top