Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event

Virtual 40th Anniversary Exhibition: Celebrating Forty Years and the Future

A virtual exhibition celebrating the artists who contributed to Baltimore Clayworks’ status as an exemplar in the global ceramics community. Check back as this exhibitions grows to include more artists that have been an integral part of the Baltimore Clayworks community.

Sarah House
See it Here: Forty Years and the Future Exhibition

These artists have been selected as an embodiment of Clayworks’ vision: an organization dedicated to the development and promotion of the highest quality of ceramic art. Our group represents a timeline of makers whose tenure in our studios reflect the highest quality of craftsmanship.

Spanning multiple generations, these Clayworks artists possess a breadth of talent that covers all aspects of the field. Functional potters are represented by the high-fire shino ware of Matt Hyleck, colorful majolica terra cotta of Martina Lantin, exquisitely carved vessels of Yoshi Fujii and slip-cast and re-assembled forms of Brett Freund. The sculptural realm is reflected in the realistic figures of Kevin Rohde, whimsical historical references of Ryan Kelly, rustic industrial implements by Lars Westby. Non-traditional approaches are presented by the mixed media works by Kyle Bauer and the pristine porcelain and cast-glass botanicals by Helen Otterson. Installation explorations with slip-cast assemblages by HaeWon Sohn will all be on display. Many nascent talents started as a resident artist and went on to more illustrious careers. Baltimore Clayworks molded their careers and they in turn shaped our history.

Participating Artists: Isolina Mingjeong Alva, Ronni Aronin, Cami Ascher, Kyle Bauer, Deb Bedwell, Patty Bilbro, Samantha Briegel, Jessica Broad, Wes Brown, Mary K. Cloonan, Connor Czora, Yoshi Fujii, Sarah House, Matt Hyleck, Ryan W. Kelly, Trish Kyner, Emily Lamb, Martina Lantin, HaeJung Lee, Shalya Marsh, Helen Otterson, Hannah Pierce, Jason Piccoli, Jenny Reed, Kevin Rohde, Tim Sherman, Volker Schoenfliess, HaeWon Sohn, Marlene Sokoloski-Sandler, Janathel Shaw, Jeremy Wallace, Samuel Wallace, Lars Westby, Sarah-Anne Winchester, Travis Winters and Pamela Worthington.  Organized by Mary Cloonan.