Board of Trustees & Advisory Group

Board of Trustees:

Bilal Ali – Elective Representative from 41st Legislative District, Maryland House of Delegates.

Ronni Aronin — Founder and Resident Artist of Baltimore Clayworks, Inc., professional potter.

Deborah Bedwell — Founder of Baltimore Clayworks, Founding Executive Director 1980-2011, immediate past president of the National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts.

Mackenzie Buchanan — Graduated Essex Community College in December 2016 with AFA. Currently studying Ceramics under Trisha Kyner, and Jewelry at Baltimore Jewelry center. Previously attended Villa Julie (Stevenson university), and MICA. Graduated in 2007 from Oldfields School. She intends to further her education at Tyler in Philadelphia next year with a double major in Jewelry and Ceramics.

George Ciscle – Curator-in- residence at Maryland Institute, College of Art until June 2017. Founding faculty of MICA’s M.F.A. in Curatorial Practice. Founding Director of The Contemporary Museum, Baltimore.

Alan Cooper – Director of Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation for 15 years until May, 2017. Recognized international arts leader; formerly Deputy for Development  at National Cathedral, Washington, DC.

Carla Dunlap – Retired Senior Program Director of Maryland State Arts Council.

Marcy Emmer – Long-time Mount Washington resident, Clayworks student and donor, Marcy has spent many years working with children and the arts, as a teacher, docent, and co-owner of an after-school arts program.

John Gazurian – John Retired businessman, and Potter.

Pat Halle – Potter and social justice community activist. Paraegal staff for 37 years at Disability Rights Maryland (formerly Maryland Disability Law Center).

Cynthia Kammann– Retired Laboratory Director of Dialysis Centers, and Potter.

Mary Jo Kirschman – Community advocate. Former social worker. Baltimore Clayworks student.

Mary Ann Mears – Sculptor, visual artist arts activist. Founding board member of Maryland Arts Place and founder of Arts Every Day, an arts-integration cultural  non-profit in Baltimore. Founding board member of Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance.

Susan Patz – Retired hydrogeologist, environmental educator, past member of the Cylburn Arboretum Association, Central Scholarship, and CHAI Boards; Northwest School/Community Partnership Co-Chair.

Megan Rich Owner and Managing Director of Megan Rich Physical Therapy, who specializes in treatment for performing artists and athletes

Dr. Larry Sandler – Psychiatrist with offices in Mount Washington Village and affiliations with University of Maryland Medical School. 

Rima Semaan – Clayworks student. International commercial banker, with 15 years experience, general manager of Lebanese bank in London.

John K. Smith — Retired business executive, CPA and developer. Former Board Treasurer and Board Chair of Baltimore Clayworks, Inc.

Leathia West – Prince Georges County potter and teacher. Longtime Clayworks student; experienced political and community activist: founder and president of Kindness Corps.

To reach the Board of Trustees, please email Susan Patz, Board Chair,

Advisory Group:

In addition, Clayworks Board of Trustees created an Advisory Group of outstanding arts professionals from the Baltimore area. In June 2018, the Board, Advisory Group, and approximately 100 key stakeholders will engage in a charrette and strategic planning process that will ultimately result in visionary programmatic and financial models. With stability and planning, Baltimore Clayworks will restore the core value of “joy” to the community and build an aspirational road map for its  future.

Kibibi Ajanku – Urban Arts Leadership Program; Sankofa Dance Theatre

Mary Ann Akers – Dean, Morgan School of Architecture and Design

Nick Cohen – Executive Director, Maryland Citizens for the Arts

Blaise DePaolo – Sculptor; Assistant Professor, Morgan State University

Luis Flores – Artist; Educator, Baltimore School for the Arts,’ Mt. Washington resident

Denise Gantt – Writer; Director of Education, The Modell – Lyric Performing Arts Center

Jill Green – Associate Dean; Johns Hopkins University Carey Business School

Nick Hawkins – Lawyer; Under Armor

Jeannie Howe – Executive Director, Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance

Fred Lazarus – President Emeritus, Maryland Institute College of Art

Susan Magsamen – Executive Director, John Hopkins University International Arts and Mind Lab

Christina McCleary – Artist; Administrator, Columbia Art Center; Founder Brickbourne Studios

Lenel Srochi Meyerhoff – Collector; Supporter of the arts

Scroll to top